Years 1 to 4

The Year 1 to 4 curriculum includes 8 Key Learning Areas

student using whiteboard
  • Religion
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Technology
  • The Arts
  • Health and Physical Education

Religious Education
Unlike the other Key Learning Areas the Religious Education Syllabus was created by the Toowoomba Catholic Schools Office. It is similar in structure to QSA syllabi and is used to develop units of work across the strands of Scripture, Celebration and Prayer, Morality and Beliefs. The Religious Education Program is connected to the integrated curriculum described below and locates students’ learning journey within a Christian context.

Integrated and Negotiated Curriculum
An integrated curriculum is one in which units of work are developed by drawing on content and processes from more than one Key Learning Area. Integrated units of work are used to develop student’s literacy and numeracy skills, expose them to a wide range of understandings, develop their thinking skills and assist them to become lifelong learners. While teachers have a sound understanding of the content and processes to be developed over time, students are given the opportunity to negotiate the way in which understandings and processes will be learned and assessed. 

Specialist Teachers

Health and Physical Education and Music and The Arts are delivered by specialist teachers who teach across the College.  The College Student Support Services team offers specialist support to students requiring support for specific needs.  The Support team consists of two Learning Support teachers assisted by a number of teacher aides. A Teacher Librarian maintains and expands an already vast collection and works with teachers in curriculum development.